4-H members, boosters honored at Family Night

Wallowa County Extension office manager Marsha Svendsen receives flowers and a plaque from the 4-H Court, from left, Katrina Anderson, Lelia Wortman and Rayanna Mitchell.

Many 4-H members and boosters were recognized during the annual Wallowa County 4-H Family Appreciation Night at Cloverleaf Hall Sunday evening.

Local OSU Extension agents John Williams and Debi Schreiber were aided by the 2003-04 4-H Court of Katrina Anderson, Rayanna Mitchell and Lelia Wortman in announcing and presenting awards during the evening.

Bonnie Marks was named as 4-H Leader of the Year for both Wallowa County and Oregon (see separate story), while Wallowa County Extension Service office manager Marsha Svendsen was recognized with flowers and a plaque for 20 years of employment by Extension.

Announced as winners of the Friends of 4-H awards were Pat and Judy Wortman, Scott McClaran and Wallowa County Fair auctioneer Justin Nedrow, all praised for their strong support for the 4-H program in the county.

4-H Alumni Awards, which annually honors former 4-H members for their accomplishments, went to 4-H leader Cammie Hale and Wallowa County Fair board member Saralyn Johnson.

Numerous 4-H members were recognized for their accomplishments during the evening , including the Wallowa County livestock judging team of Emily Maasdam, Joy Kuppinger and Rayanna and Jacinda Mitchell which placed first at the recent judging contest at the University of Idaho.

The Viola and Perry Johnston Memorial Award, a cash award of $100, was presented to Matt Williams and Relissa Wortman, to help pay for their travel to the National 4-H Congress. Wortman will also represent Oregon at the National Poultry Judging contest in Lexington, Ken., in November.

County Medals of Merits were presented to the following 4-H members: horse, Rayanna Mitchell, Christina Montgomery and Layken Buck; breeding beef, Liane Maasdam; dairy goat, Casey Montgomery; swine, Lelia Wortman; agriculture, Emily Maasdam; foods and nutrition, Katrina Anderson; photography, Celeste Hillock; horticulture and gardening, Riley Wortman; citizenship, Tricia Kunkle and Relissa Wortman; leadership, Sara Freels; public speaking, Jacinda Mitchell; and achievement, Matt Williams.

Those earning All-Around 4-H Awards in various categories included: clothing, junior Sierra Hopkins, intermediate Allison Curry and senior Erin Voss; foods, junior Sierra Hopkins and intermediate Relissa Wortman; and livestock, Liane Maasdam.

Beef carcass award winners announced Sunday were 1st, BoDean Warnock; 2nd, Derek Shear; and 3rd, Amber Shear.

Adult leaders receiving pins this year were: one-year, Amy Graning, Bill Graning, Cammie Hale and Teri Mofit; five-year, Teresa Clough, Dianne Mitchell, Skip Shelton, Schevelle Wortman; 10-year, Randy Garnett, Brinda Stanley; 15-year, Debbie Gilbert, Nancy Maasdam; and 20-year, Judy Sherod.

Presented with their their first year pins as junior leaders were: Trevor DeVore, Kady Doughterty, Kyle Hook, Brandon Mahon, Kyle Neal, Michelle Phillips, Mitchell Shelton, Tanner Shelton, Zack Skillings, Madeline Smith, Emma Survis, Luke Survis, Mallory Turner and Allyssa Werst.

4-H club teen leaders receiving certificates included Celeste Hillock, Maggie Norman, Jacinda Mitchell and Relissa Wortman, scrapbooking; Lacey Lind and Sadie Isley, food and nutrition; and Matt Williams, leadership and community service club.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.