Mayor positions in Enterprise, Joseph, Wallowa, and Lostine will be up for public vote Nov. 6. In addition, three city council positions will be up for election in both Enterprise and Joseph, and two each in Wallowa and Lostine.

Mayors completing two-year terms are Steve Lear of Enterprise, Ron Philbrook of Wallowa, and Lostine’s Krag Norton. Mayor Dennis Sands of Joseph is completing a four-year term.

The deadline to file for any mayor or councilor post in these four cities, all non-partisan positions, is Aug. 28, says county clerk Dana Roberts.

Enterprise council posts up for election for four-year terms are currently held by Doug Terry, Larry Christman and Stacey Karvoski. Council positions in Enterprise, like in Lostine, are numbered, meaning that those who file for office can file against a specific incumbent if that incumbent chooses to run for another term.

Joseph is the only city among the four where the mayor and councilors are voted in for four-year terms. However, like Wallowa, Joseph does not have numbered council positions, meaning the top three council vote recipients in Joseph and the two council candidates receiving the most votes in Wallowa earn spots on the city council for four-year terms.

In Joseph, two councilors – Liza Butts and George Ballard – were appointed to office and are about to complete their predecessors’ unexpired terms. Troy Berglund, who was elected to office, is the third Joseph councilor whose term is expiring.

The two city council positions up for election in Wallowa will be those of Vikki Knifong, who also filled an unexpired term, and that of Ena May Dempsey. Lostine city councilors whose terms will expire soon are Becky Buck and Kenneth Spidell.

Roberts said that local vote-by-mail ballots will be mailed Oct. 19; out-of-state ballots, mostly for snowbirds and students, on Oct. 8; and military and overseas ballots Sept. 22.

The deadline for new voters to register to vote is Oct. 16, said Roberts, although those who recently have moved to Wallowa County legally can register the day before the election.

The only partisan positions in the county that will be listed on the November ballot, according to the county clerk, are those of county commissioners Mike Hayward and Susan Roberts, both Republicans. Also on that ballot will be treasurer Shonelle Dutcher Pryse, running unopposed for a nonpartisan position.

Because the commissioners ran unopposed during the May 15 primary, the only way an opposing name will appear on the fall ballot will be if a non-affiliated candidate files for either of those positions, Roberts says.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.