Any eligible resident who would like to become more involved in city government is invited to file for a position as mayor or city councilor of one of the incorporated cities in Wallowa County. The positions will be filled in the Nov. 4 general election.

Interested persons should pick up a filing form at their local city hall and return it in time for city recorders to meet a 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 26, filing deadline with the Wallowa County Clerk’s Office.

The open mayor positions are for two-year terms and council positions for four-year terms. In Lostine and Enterprise candidates file for a specified position, and in Wallowa and Joseph there are no position numbers and the top overall vote-getters will be elected.

Open positions (and the names of those who now fill the seats) are as follows:

Wallowa – Mayor, Vikki Knifong; two councilors, Kevin Silveira and Raymond “Red” Evans.

Lostine – Mayor, Krag Norton; Position 1, Pam Lathrop; Position 2, Darci Calhoun; and Position 4, unfilled since 2012 election (two years).

Enterprise – Mayor, Margie Shaw; Position 1, Jenni Word; Position 2, Tim Parks; Position 3, Laura Miller.

Joseph – Three council positions, Pearl Sturm, Theresa Sajonia and Brooke Langerman.

(Mayor in Joseph serves for four years and is not open this year).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.