Numerous Enterprise FFA members were recognized for a year's worth of accomplishments at the chapter's 79th annual awards banquet.

Top award winners announced at the event were: Star in Agriculture, Jaymes Butterfield; Star Farmer, Ashley Graning; Urban Award, Rachael Garvin;

Initial Star Greenhand, Shelby Graning; Star Greenhand, Brooke Greenshields; Outstanding Sophomore, Kasey Lathrop; Outstanding Junior, Jaymes Butterfield; DeKalb Award, Karla Wilsey; Friendship Award, Steven Simpson; and Eddie Nobles Memorial Award, Ashley Graning.

Three chapter members were recognized for earning proficiency awards at the state level: Steven Simpson, Turf Grass Management; Jaymes Butterfield, Diversified Agriculture Production; and Ashley Graning, Agriculture Service.

They were eligible to compete at state as district winners. Other district proficiency award winners were: Karla Wilsey, Home and Community Development; Jake Nicholls, Landscape Management; and Ashley Graning, Poultry Production.

Chapter proficiency winners recognized at the banquet included: Skyler Willis, Beef Production and Diversified Livestock; Seth Jannuzzi, Ag Mechanics; Karla Wilsey, Food Science; Kasey Lathrop, Specialty Crop Production,; and Sarah Butterfield, Forage Production and Equine Science.

Members honored as Enterprise's 2009 State Degree recipients were Jacob Micka, Joscelyn Stangel, Jaymes Butterfield, Sarah Butterfield, Samantha Robbins, Barry Anderson and Sierra Hopkins.

The Ag Issues Team that won third place in state competition was made up of Miranda Robbins, Rachael Garvin, Alex McCadden and Kasey Lathrop.

The beginning parliamentary procedures team which earned a first place at district and third place at sectionals was introduced; members are Brooke Greenshields, Silje Christoffersen, Whitney Schaefer, Dustin Denton, Shelby Graning and Cassandra Vanskike.

Community members recognized by the chapter with Outstanding Service Awards were Mark and Anna Butterfield, Dan and Lori Butterfield, Bob and Nora Stangel and Bill and Amy Graning.

Those inducted into the chapter as honorary members are Jeff and Brenda Micka, Chuck and Linda Anderson, Billie Crump, Bill Hopkins and Kent and Sherry Robbins.

Enterprise FFA chapter's 2009-10 officers were inducted at the end of the banquet. The new slate of officers are: president, Alex McCadden; vice president, Sarah Butterfield; secretary, Kasey Lathrop; treasurer, Joscelyn Stangel; reporter, Jaymes Butterfield; sentinel, Jacob Micka; and historian, Rachael Garvin.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.