Excursion Train expands schedule for 2014

Excursion train scenery

ELGIN – The Eagle Cap Excursion Train will operate on an expanded schedule this season, bringing back some popular mid-week trips and rides to and from Minam. The Wallowa Union Railroad Authority approved the changes in January. The Friends of the Joseph Branch, a non-profit organization, created the schedule and will again operate the train and manage the Elgin Depot.

“We are pleased to offer more choices for passengers this season,” says Ed Spaulding, president of the Friends. “Our shorter trips are especially designed to appeal to families. Our trips out of Minam will be handy for our passengers who are vacationing at Wallowa Lake or coming down from Lewiston area. We have added some evening trips to capitalize on our beautiful summer evenings and brought back our popular Thursday rides.” Spaulding notes there are 19 trips on the schedule, compared with only 10 in 2013.

As always, the season kicks off with the popular Mother’s Day Brunch Train, Sunday, May 11. May 22 offers a trip for school groups that want to incorporate a train ride for students with a tour of the Lookingglass Fish Hatchery. (Teachers can call Peggy at Alegre Travel for details.) June 14 marks the first return to Minam, with two short rides available that day. The always exciting train robbery by the Elgin Stampeders takes place June 21. Full trip descriptions are available at the train website, www.eaglecaptrainrides.com.

2014 Train Schedule

Sunday, May 11, Mother’s Day Brunch; Thursday, May 22, Fish Hatchery Tour Train (school groups/limited open seating); Saturday, June 14,Family Day, Elgin/Minam in a.m. or Minam/Elgin in p.m.; Saturday, June 21, Elgin Stampeders’ Train Robbery; Saturday, July 5, Elgin/Lookingglass; Thursday, July 17, Elgin/Minam – Cowboy Country Dinner; Saturday, July 19, Minam/Rondowa round trip in a.m. or Minam/Elgin in p.m.; Thursday, July 31, Elgin/Minam – Summer Sundowner; Saturday, Aug. 2, Minam/Lookingglass round trip w/Hatchery Tour; Thursday, Aug. 14, Minam/Elgin – Cowboy Country Dinner; Saturday, Aug. 16, Picnic Train Elgin/Minam or Minam/Elgin; Saturday, Aug. 16, Picnic Train Round Trip Option; Saturday, Sept. 13, Two Rivers Elgin/Kimmel round trip; Saturday, Sept. 27, Two Rivers Fall Foliage Photography Train; Saturday, Oct. 11, Two Rivers Autumn Train Robbery; Saturday, Oct. 18, Two Rivers Fall Foliage.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.