Family award dinner honors 4-H members

Photo Debi Schreiber

Left to right: Duke Lathrop, Sally Akin, Rhee Lathrop (representing South Fork Grange; Elvaree Fine (representing Liberty Grange; Linda Knifong (representing Hurricane Creek Grange); Donna and Larry Bacon, and Sandy and Don Mallory (representing North End Grange).

The 4-H Family and Leader Appreciation Night was held Sunday at Cloverleaf Hall in Enterprise.

Dick Stangel was honored as the 4-H Leader of the Year. Stangel has been involved in the 4-H program for eight years, serving on the Executive Board and Extension Advisory Board. He was lauded by outgoing leader of the year Schevelle Wortman for being "the kind of volunteer that we would like to clone, and is especially dedicated to the archery and livestock programs." Stangel was also nominated for the Oregon 4-H Leader of the Year award.

All around awards were presented to members who excelled in their project areas. The senior clothing award went to Alison Curry; junior foods to Cody Hopkins; intermediate foods to Sierra Hopkins; senior foods to Alison Curry and all around livestock award to Alex McCadden.

The Friends of 4-H business award was presented to Granges of Wallowa County for its support through sponsoring awards, volunteering time in the food booth, organizing community events 4-H is involved in, and assisting 4-H members with special projects.

Two individuals received Friends of 4-H honors. Jim Stilson was noted for sharing his knowledge of horses and donating to the radio auction.

Also honored was John Bailey for his 20 years of service to both 4-H and FFA, currently helping in the horse and swine project areas.

Two alumni awards were presented this year. First was Velda Bales, who was honored for her work in livestock, horse and leathercraft projects during her nine years in Wallowa County.

The second award went to Erin Melville, who was involved in the horse and livestock programs, as well as serving as the Wallowa County Fair Horse Superintendent for several years.

County Medals of Merit are awarded to members in the 7th to 12th grades who have demonstrated increasing accomplishments and knowledge in their project areas, as well as in their leadership and citizen activities. This year's winners are Ashley Morehouse in the area of sheep; Riley Wortman in the area of achievement; and Rochelle Wortman in the area of public speaking.

First place in the carcass awards went to BoDean Warnock who won $50. Sally Mary Blair and Tristan Patton tied for second place, each winning $25. Prize money was donated by Wallowa County Stockgrowers and Max and Jeanie Mallory.

A retiring officer award was presented to Sandra Anderson for her service on the 4-H executive board from 2005 to 2007 as treasurer and vice president. She was credited for writing the criteria for the Wallowa County 4-H scholarship that will be offered to the graduating class of 2008.

Junior leaders were announced with pins for first year members Sarah Butterfield, Trevor DeVore, Emily Howerton, Kathryn Kemp, Kaylee Neal and Shelby Tienhaara. Returning leaders were Tessa Kuppinger, Liane Maasdam, Christina Montgomery, Kyle Neal, Ayesha Wortman, Riley Wortman and Rochelle Wortman.

Receiving 40-year pins were Perry Johnston and Donna Mae Johnston. A 30-year pin went to Bonnie Marks.

Ten-year pins went to Sandra Anderson and Bonnie Henderson. Cammie Hale received a five-year pin.

First year pins were given to Betty Belcher, Billie Crump, Lacey Daggett, Shawn Dutcher, Heather Gurewitz, Connie Jenkins, Wendy Stewart, Roberta Temple, Dan Warnock and Lelia Wortman.

A teen leader certificate was awarded Riley Wortman for poultry.

Introductions included executive board officers President Charlie Warnock, Vice-President Sandy Anderson, Secretary Kathy Vernam, Treasurer Cynthia Warnock, and this year's court of Brooke Greenshields, Emily Howerton and Alex McCadden.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.