Mannion, Doctor, Murphy, Seumalo will serve as team captains next season

The Oregon State football team voted on its team captains for the coming 2014 season Tuesday, selecting seniors Sean Mannion, Michael Doctor and Ryan Murphy, and junior Isaac Seumalo as the four players.

Mannion's selection makes him the only Beaver to ever be named captain three times and was the first sophomore in the program's history to be named captain in 2012.

The senior quarterback has thrown for 10,436 yards and could break former USC Trojan Matt Barkley's Pac-12 record of 12,274 yards.

Doctor will be a team captain for the second straight year after being granted a fifth year of eligibility because of ankle surgery last season. The senior linebacker missed all but two games with the injury, but is fully recovered for the start of fall camp.

Murphy, a senior safety, was voted captain for the first time. The three-year starter has 28 career starts and 170 career tackles. Seumalo has started 25 games, mostly at center, and is considered one of the better offensive linemen in the Pac-12.

Fall camp begins for the Beavers Aug. 4 with the first game of the season set for Aug. 31 against Portland State in Reser Stadium.

The Daily Barometer

On Twitter @barosports

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.