A slide show of the annual April senior trip to the Snake River by horseback and pack animal was a highlight of the Joseph High School awards banquet. This year 14 seniors, accompanied by about 10 parents and other adults, made the traditional trek.

Trevor Lewis and Trevor McWaters, selected from a group of 13 freshmen FFA members, both received the chapter's Star Greenhand award, presented by advisor Dave Yost at the May 7 banquet.

Two top members - Jeramy Shoffit and Amanda Smith - shared the Star Chapter Farmer award .

The chapter Placement in Agriculture Award went to Caleb Bright, who works or has worked for several different ranchers.

Several honorary members were inducted into the chapter during the evening event. They were Fred and Shelly Steen, parents of outgoing president Erik Steen, and George and Amy Kohlhepp and Eric and Jane Smith, parents of this year's State FFA degree recipients, Josey Kohlhepp and Amanda Smith, respectively.

Installation of new officers concluded the banquet. The 2009-10 slate of officers is president, Josey Kohlhepp; vice president, Anthony Smallen; secretary, Jeramy Shoffit; treasurer, Malinda Tienhaara; reporter, Trevor Lewis; and sentinel, Will Cannon.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.