Local FFA officers take part in leadership retreat

Enterprise and Joseph FFA members ,plus state FFA officers attending the Eastern Oregon District FFA leadership camp Oct. 10-11, are, left to right: back, Clayton Lowe of Joseph; state officers Braden Groth, Lindsey Vincent, Jared Collins, Wade Foster, Cole Pritchard and Brittany Sinteck; and Tonya McLaughlin and Chelcee Noland, both of Enterprise; front, Matt Exon of Enterprise, Lane Bailey, Riley Makin, Beth McClaran, Kyle Hook and Brooke Moncrief, all of Joseph, and Katrina Anderson, Sara Freels and Krista Stangel, Enterprise. Submitted photo

Officers from both the Joseph and Enterprise FFA chapters took part in the Eastern Oregon District Leadership Retreat, held for the first time at Camp Elkanah in the Blue Mountains on Oct. 10-11.

Eastern Oregon district officers, including district president Chelcee Noland of Enterprise and district treasurer Kyle Hook of Joseph, teamed up with the visiting state officer team to provide leadership workshops. Members learned about fundraising and advertising techniques, as well as possibilities for community service projects.

"I thought the best part about of the leadership camp was being able to share ideas with other chapters about community service projects. Our chapters definitely got some great ideas," said Enterprise chapter reporter Sara Freels. "We are also excited about making plans to work together through our new partnership with the Joseph chapter and are planning to add several new joint activities to our calendar."

In other FFA activities, approximately120 FFA members from eight schools in the Eastern Oregon district took part in the FFA district Soils and Weed/Crop ID contests, hosted by Joseph FFA chapter Oct. 6. Soils contestants toured the county analyzing various soil sites, while the weed/crop contest was held in the ag shop.

The Joseph Chapter placed first in the Soils Contest, with members Kodi LeViner placing first, Lane Bailey second, Julie Butterfield third, Joe Dawson and Cody Graning fourth (tie), Leah Staigle sixth, Brooke Moncrief eighth, Tristan Patton 10th and Mike McMullen 11th.

Participating in the contests from the Enterprise chapter were Matt Exon, Mychal Butterfield, Victoria Gibson, Jake Maasdam, Lianne Maasdam, Brady Norman, Rachel Schaefer, Emily Wyffels, Laura Britton, Sara Morello, Cody Schwendiman, Seth Warner, Michael Hanson, Travis Bronson and Sara Schenetzky.

Joseph members in the weed/crop identification contest were Clayton Lowe, Beth McClaran, Derrek Layton, Kyle Hook, Jay Watts, Michael Marks, Clayton Hayward, Dylan Lewis, Megan Garnett, Ashley Immoos, Thomas Louw, Lance Strickland, Tanner Stewart, Riley Makin and Darcy Witherrite.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.