Wallowa HS

The Wallowa School District’s bond measure that, if passed, would raise $7 million for the district and draw an additional $4 million in a matching grant from the state, is among the items on the ballot in next week’s district election. Two positions on the school board are also up for election.

WALLOWA COUNTY — The Wallowa School District is likely to be the most active during next week’s primary elections.

In addition to voters deciding on a ballot measure to raise funds for upgrades to the school, two positions on the school board have contested elections on Tuesday, May 18.

Michael Lowe, the incumbent seeking another four-year term in Position 2, is facing two challengers for the spot — Joseph Miles and Zach Lathrop.

Position 5 will have a new person in the seat, as Mark Moeller and Bill Robb are both running for their first term.

Voters in Wallowa also will decide on a measure that would raise $7 million for the district and draw an additional $4 million in a matching grant from the state. The measure would increase the property tax $1.96 per $1,000 of assessed property value for the length of the bond. The additional grant money comes only if the measure is passed.

Only one other election — for Position 4 in the Joseph School District — features a contested race. Incumbent Rachel Sykora made a late decision to re-run for the four-year position, and will face Kathy Zacharias, who put her name in the ring only when it appeared Sykora was not going to run again, according to county Clerk Sandy Lathrop.

Every other race in the county next week — from school to cemetery districts — is unopposed.

In county schools, includes Olivia Losby for Position 6 in the Joseph School District; Heather Melville (Position 1), Kate Fent (Position 4) and Mandy Decker (Position 5) in Enterprise; and Rene Crawford (Position 2) and Dustin DeHaan (Position 5) in Troy. All those running except for Crawford are incumbents. The incumbent for that position, Ervin Hafer, retired, Lathrop said.

In the Lower Valley Water District, incumbents Kim Werst in Position 4 and Rick Schaeffer in Position 5 are running unopposed, as are Rob Burns, Jason Crenshaw, and Gary Willett — all incumbents — in the Evergreen Water District.

Larry Wightman and Bobbie Baker are each seeking another term in the Wallowa Rural Fire District, and incumbents Bob Young (Position 3), Dave Hurley (Position 4) and Greg Johnson (Position 5) are all running again in the Wallowa Lake Rural Fire District.

Bonnie Henderson is again running in the Wallowa Cemetery District, and incumbents Muriel Jones, Les Carlsen and Shirley Dowd are seeking roles again for the Lostine Cemetery District.

Enterprise’s Cemetery District will still have a couple of holes following next week’s election. Incumbent Tim Kiesecker is running again for Position 5, but Positions 2 and 4, which are up next week, are currently vacant.

Reid Kooch is running in the Alder Slope Cemetery District, and Tom Schaafsma looks to fill a role in Joseph.

Wallowa Memorial Hospital Board incumbents Nick Lunde (Position 3) and Kate Loftus (Position 4) are running unopposed. And at the ESD, David Flynn is running again for an at-large position, while Bre Austin is running to fill an open at-large role after Joan Madsen retired.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.