Editor’s Note:

Last week the Chieftain ran an older Tee Time column in error. This is the column that should have run last week. The Chieftain apologizes for the error.

There’s so many fun things to do, and such a short time to do it.

Do enjoy a dip in the coolness of Wallowa Lake. Relish the view from a hike on the moraine. Cozy ‘round a campfire with friends for some tasty s’mores. Straddle a saddle for an eye-opening peek into the Eagle Cap. Above all, do play golf at Alpine Meadows.

Alpine Meadows is a golf course to love, and other than a tournament now and then the course is open to the public for play every day. Check web site golfalpinemeadows.com

Cheryl Kooch and Marsha Hauptmann, clubhouse co- managers, welcome golfers to come on down. No need for a tee time, just a sign in. A driving range, practice green and rental carts are available.

Talk about savoring a summer day, 53 people entered the annual Chief Joseph Days Shrine Golf Tournament at AMGC Friday, July 26. Competition was in a 4/5 man team scramble format. From familiar faces such as Sid Wortman, Dean Hatch, Tyler Coppin and Bill Williams to new faces such as Brandon Harper, Lisa Larson (Utah) and Jeff Larson (Arizona) the tourney proved to be good-time golf while proceeds were solely marked for local shrine activities.

Sam Wade, who chairs the tournament, says, “We want those who participate to have fun. We keep the game simple . . . no handicaps, no difficult scoring required and yes on mulligans @ $1.00 each. Our motto is to simply hit and giggle.”

Shrine golfers made some impressive drives, fairway shots and putts. Scores were low. The first place team of Dennis Kennedy, Rod Payant, Bob Payant and Jerry Hook scored a 59 (13 strokes under par.) Second Place: Jared Witty, Tyler Harshfield, Ryan Collins and Tanner Shelton, 60. Third place Rob Hays, Kyle Hays, Cody Hays and Darren Ulrich, 61. Tristan Beck, Tim Gilbert, Pat Lynn and Mike Walborn were 4th place winners with a 62 in a 3-way tiebreaker. Julie Hickerson won Ladies Long Drive and also KP on No. 4. Men’s Longest Drive went to Tyler Harshfield. Men’s KP No. 1 Easton Powaukee.


There’s two (2) board positions open for election this year.

The Ladies Invitational Scramble is scheduled for Tuesday, August 13th. The scramble is a new format for the annual tournament.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.